Jim Murray announces his Whisky Winners for 2016.

For those of you who believe in such things, Canadas Crown Royal Distillery has been awarded the title of ‘Best World Whisky’ for its Northern Harvest Rye Edition in Jim Murrays Whisky Bible which is published on Monday.


It is the first time a Canadian Whisky has won the top prize in the Whisky Bible. Last year the whisky world was shaken when the award went to a Japanese single malt.

The Top Five are:

  1. Crown Royal Northern Harvest Rye
  2. Pikesville 100 proof Straight Rye
  3. Midleton Distilleries Dair Ghaelach
  4. Buffalo Trace’s William Larue Weller
  5. Yamazaki Mizunara

Other award winners are as follows.

Scotch of the Year – Glenfarclas Family Cask 1957

European Whisky (Multiple casks) – English Whisky Co. Chapter 16

European Whisky (Single cask) – Kornog Taouarc’h Chwec’hved 14

Whether or not these whisky awards are relevant or not is a discussion for another day but a Canadian Whisky winning such an award is bound to make a few headlines…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s